top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmit

Patanjali Sutra Series

The source of Yoga is considered to be the Patanjali Sutras. It is a sanskrit text written 2,000 years ago in India around a similar time as when Gautuma Buddha lived. The text is comprised of 196 short paragraphs which build on each other and are divided into 8 progressive steps. These are:

1 Yama- External discipline 2 Niyama- Internal discipline 3 Asana- Sitting posture 4 Pranayama- Breath regulation 5 Pratyahara- Sense withdrawal 6 Dharana- Concentration development 7 Dhyana- Sustained concentration 8 Samadhi- Effortless oneness

We'll talk about each step, individually. Stay tuned for the mini-series.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page